Events

Little Sweat from Heaven

10 years. It has been 10 years since I ran a marathon. That was SJ10K in Subang Jaya back in High School. Not a big running fan myself but as I grew older, I stopped playing sports like rugby and football. It’s hard to gather 22 friends and play together nowadays. Everyone is busy with work, life, girlfriend, family, and some boring excuses such as trouble waking up in the morning or has to accompany girlfriend shopping. I mean, the guy is holding his girlfriend’s handbag on his shoulder for God sake. Might as well you ask your girlfriend to hold your balls in public. That would be sweet ain’t it? That’s the problem that I saw with Malaysian guys nowadays. Your manhood just got flushed in the toilet bowl my friend. No matter how gangster you are, the moment you’re holding your girlfriend’s handbag, you lost your balls man. Period.

I had a chance to joined a marathon in Bukit Kiara today with what supposedly with my WIEF colleagues but they all had to leave to Astana, Kazakhstan this morning and left me running by myself. Works come first and I’m not backing out just because they can’t make it. I got up at 4.30 AM and made my half-boiled egg in the kitchen. Then run upstairs as a morning practice for the marathon. By the time I got ready, it’s already 5.15 AM and I have to be there by 5.30 AM. Oh crap. I thought I was late so I drove over the speed limit just to get there in time when I realized that I’m actually one of the first group that arrived there this morning. I got my sweet parking spot close to Bukit Kiara in Securities Comission’s parking lot and took my time stretching. I haven’t run 7KM for a really long time so I hope I don’t get injured or sprained ankle while I’m at it. I couldn’t find anyone that I knew so I decided to go for a slow jog to warm myself up. I was already sweating 30 minutes before the race and I figured that it’s good enough.

7.00AM. 12KM woman starts and I can see all these fit ladies are eager to run their brains out. Since I’m not as fit as they are, I chose 7KM to run. I figured, why do I have to punish myself just to impress myself unlike Barney Stinson in HIMYM. I got my sweet new shoe as a gift from a friend on my birthday last month and it is awesome. Nike Lunareclipse is just awesome. It kicks my 2 year old Adidas running shoe just like that. I practiced in KLCC park every Friday after work. I ran at the gym. I feel healthy and I’m trying to kick this fat out my body once and for all. The marathon is just what I needed to close my 2010. So, I started running at 7.20 AM. The target is to finish 7KM within 45 minutes and be part of the first group to arrive at the finish line. Sadly for me, I didn’t time my run but I arrived with the first group which makes me very proud. All these weeks of training works and it worth the effort.

I saw Azri Malek and few other friends at the finish line. I didn’t know the others so I decided to head home after I received my certificate. I would like to thank you Malakoff for organizing the marathon. Everything was smooth and well organized. Everything was well thought of. Cheers to that. Well done!

Malakoff marathon is just what I needed to close this hell of the year. Started with Australian adventure and closing this year with a marathon. I’m ready for 2011. Bring it on!

My Magic Number

Where It Begins

Few Runners Arrived as Early as 6.00 AM

Doctors Are Ready

Malakoff Marathon

Finish Line

Standard

Leave a comment