The Festive of Forgiveness… But Do We Forget?

Wow. I just realized that this is only my second post in 2013. Wooowww… It has been awhile since I’d be selfish and only talk about myself. Workaholic much. Or maybe I just have nothing interesting to share. Oh well, it’s better than nothing right???

 

How time flies. Today, Muslims around the world will leave Ramadan once again. I still remember when I was little, these are the most exciting times of the year. Balik Kampung and meeting all my cousins. Usually we play football together until iftar and at night we’ll play fire crackers. Exciting times. When Syawal arrives, we Muslims in Malaysia are custom with Duit Raya, asking for forgiveness, visiting others, and the best is the FOOD. Man… ketupat rendang and if you’re Johorian, it’s the Lodeh. Fuh… Lodeh oh Lodeh. Few more hours, you’ll be in my hungry belly.

 

Forgive and forget. People always mentioned this during Eid Festive Season. Selamat Hari Raya. Maaf Zahir Batin. Kosong Kosong ok. Does that sound familiar? I wonder how many people really mean what they said. Have you heard of the song Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word? Less the gay part, personally I think it’s really hard to say sorry. What more to forgive? It’s sad isn’t it? When you said sorry, do you really mean it? Can you just say sorry and think it’s going to be alright? Yes Allah is the most forgiving. He will forgive you when you repent. But when you did something wrong to another human being, can he/she forgives easily? Even when he forgives, can he forget? What is the true meaning of forgiveness? What is it? 27 years of living in this world and I still don’t understand the meaning of forgiveness. What is forgiveness when you still have grudges to others? What is the meaning of forgiveness when you still can’t meet eye-to-eye? What is the meaning of forgiveness??

 

I’m sorry. It’s a little bit emotional. I guess what happened around me really affected me a lot. I’d really want to know how do you forgive and forget the person you trusted the most and betrayed your trust. After all the hard work you’ve put into. After all the sacrifices you’ve done. All your work were destroyed in just few seconds. How do you forget? If anyone has the answer, please… tell me. I’d really like to forgive and forget but I don’t know how to do it after what has happened.

 

This festive season, I would like to ask for forgiveness from all who are reading this post and I hope that you don’t keep any grudges on me. If I’ve ever betrayed your trust, I guess there’s nothing I can do than to just keep asking forgiveness and I will try my best to become a better man. If I’ve ever written anything wrong, or it touches you, I would like to ask for your apology. It’s not meant to degrade anyone nor to embarrass anyone but it’s a lesson for myself and for others. I hope this Syawal we will open a new book and make our friendship closer than ever before. InshaAllah.

 

Selamat Hari Raya. Maaf Zahir Batin.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

